Issues and Answers

Reset Photoshop preferences to solve these problems lags freezes stutters or runs slower!

Corrupted Preferences files could be the main reason behind most of the common Photoshop crushes. So If you have Frequent problems with your favourite graphics editor, maybe all you need is to Reset Photoshop preferences.

The Preferences file is where Photoshop stores many of its performance settings, after a while it could be corrupted and the information inside of it messed up, this causes the most common sudden performance issues with Photoshop.

As a Photoshop user, you could daily suffer from the sudden stop of the program or freezing at launch, this issue is one of corrupted Preferences files. To resolve this issue, you need to update Photoshop to the latest version otherwise Reset Photoshop preferences.

Another common problem with Photoshop is Slowness at launch and this one too needs resetting preferences as a quick solution. A precautionary measure Disconnect any external peripherals or drives and Disable any antivirus software installed on your computer.

In the upcoming lines, we will take a look at how to reset the Photoshop Preferences on Windows and Mac.

How to Reset Photoshop Preferences – All Versions :

On Mac OS :

  • Quit Photoshop:  go up to the Photoshop menu in the Menu Bar and choose Quit Photoshop:

  • While Photoshop closing press and hold Shift+Command+Option on your keyboard, then relaunch Photoshop as normal.
  • Before Photoshop opens, a message will pop up asking if you want to delete the Adobe Photoshop Settings file. This is your Preferences file. Choose Yes. preferences will be reset to default settings:
How to Reset Photoshop Preferences - All Versions
How to Reset Photoshop Preferences – All Versions

On Windows:

    • Quit Photoshop: go up to the File menu in the Menu Bar along the top of the screen and choose Exit
    • While the program closing, press and hold Shift+Ctrl+Alt  on your keyboard and relaunch Photoshop the way you normally would.
    • Just like Mac before Photoshop opens, a message will pop up asking if you want to delete the Adobe Photoshop Settings file. Choose Yes. Photoshop will then open with all of your preferences restored to their original, default settings.

This way is the easiest way to Reset Photoshop preferences but it will reset preference files for custom shortcuts, workspaces, and colour settings to default.

Tags

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close
Close