HOW TOIssues and Answers

Everything About Location Tracking on iPhone

Your location is tracked! Do you have issues with privacy and location tracking on iPhone, you think your device is spying on you? Don’t worry here’s everything about location tracking on iPhone.

Your iPhone already can share your real-time location with any individual, tags your location in the photos you take, and many apps beg for location access.

To know how to control all these things and more, just keep reading…

Everything about location tracking on iPhone

Find My iPhone

The first app that directly tracks your location is “Find My iPhone”. This feature lets you track your iPhone if you lose it.

Everything about location tracking on iPhone
Everything about location tracking on iPhone

But this feature allows anyone to know your location if he has access to your Apple ID account. so it’s important to create a unique password and ensure other people don’t have access to your account.

If you’ve set up Family Sharing, your family members can also track your iPhone’s location with the default settings.

To control Find My iPhone:

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap your name at the top of the Settings screen.
  • Tap “Find Me.” You can control whether Find My iPhone is enabled from here and also choose whether your location is shared with the family members displayed here.

Sharing Locations With People

There’s also a Sharing Locations option with your friends or anyone you want. This feature used to be called “Find My Friends,” but now both family and friend location-sharing is rolled into the Find My app.

To check whether you’ve shared your iPhone’s location with anyone, open the “Find My” app on your iPhone. Tap the “People” icon at the bottom of the window and look at the people on the list. Your family members will appear here, as will anyone you’ve shared your location with.

To remove a person from this list, swipe left on them and tap the red trash can icon.

Apps have access to your location

Many apps have access to your location, to see which apps have access to your location, head to Settings > Privacy > Location Services.

On this list, you can see which apps have access to your location. An app that “Always” has access to your location can access it even in the background, while apps set to “While Using” can only access your location while you’re using them. You can also force the app to ask you every time it wants location access.

To change an app’s location permissions, tap It in the list here and choose a new option: Never, Ask Next Time, While Using the App, or Always.

Photos with Location Data

If you don’t know, your photos can give away your location. When you take a photo, your camera automatically adds geographical data to the photo.

Some services automatically purge this location data from a photo when you upload it. However, not all do and, if you send a photo directly to someone via SMS, email, or another method, that person can likely see the location data in your photo and determine where that photo was taken.

You can stop the iPhone’s Camera from saving location information in the photos you take. You can also just remove location data while sharing a photo. From the Photos app, tap the Share button, tap “Options” at the top of the sharing screen, and disable the “Location” option.

Bluetooth Tracking Beacons

Nearby Bluetooth beacons can also be used for tracking you, it could be used to track the movements of shoppers in a shopping mall, gathering a lot of data for targeting advertisements.

You can check which apps already have access to your phone’s Bluetooth radio by heading to:

Settings > Privacy > Bluetooth.

Cell Towers

The cellular carrier can know your location by measuring the relative signal strengths of your phone to three different cellular towers.

Some cellular carriers sell location data with third-party companies, if your cellular carrier collects your location, there’s no way to avoid this.

Tags

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close
Close