HOW TOWordpress

How to Put WordPress into Maintenance Mode?

At many times you may want to make changes on your site and don’t want visitors to access your website during the process. In this case, you need to put your WordPress into Maintenance Mode.

Why Maintenance Mode can be important?

Maintenance mode is a special mode that limits visitors’ access to the front end of your website. At the same time, it allows logged-in site administrators to view the website as usual.

The developers prefer Maintenance mode in case of implementing large or complex changes to avoid the possibility of experiencing a broken page or feature.

How to Put WordPress into Maintenance Mode?

To Put your WordPress site into Maintenance Mode, all you need is a plugin that enables the use of maintenance mode, there’s already many, but we will use the most popular one: “WP Maintenance Mode”.

To install it from the WordPress Dashboard, go to Plugins > Add New and search for “WP Maintenance Mode”. From there, install and activate the plugin.

Let’s see how it works…

After installing the plugin, you need to check how your maintenance mode screen looks? And review the information on it.

  • To do so, head over to Settings > WP Maintenance Mode.
  • Click on the Design tab to start customizing.
How to Put WordPress into Maintenance Mode?
How to Put WordPress into Maintenance Mode?

WP Maintenance Mode lets us choose a heading, text, colors, and background for the screen. You can even upload a background image if you like.

  • After editing the information you want, save the settings, and then click on the Modules tab.

Testing Maintenance Mode:

Turn on maintenance mode by visiting Settings > WP Maintenance Mode and making sure we’re within the General tab.

To see how the site will look like for public users, you will need to log out.

 Return to Normal mode:

After making sure how Maintenance Mode interface looks like, you can log in WordPress again to put your website back to normal mode.

Visit Settings > WP Maintenance Mode and make sure you’re within the General tab. Click the “Deactivated” radio button and save the settings.

That’s all!

Tags

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close
Close